Costa Rica…
January 22, 2010, 9:52 pm
Filed under: Thoughts

Blogging will take a break for the next two months for cause of travelling in Costa Rica and Panama.

I will be taking the OTS course in Tropical Ecology and will come back at the end of March.

Hopefully, I should be able to take a lot of ant pictures during my trip.

Before to leave, I have to fill a commitment.

In a previous blog, I said that if someone could give me 5 good reasons to like Paratrechina (now Nylanderia), I would write a poem. Well, James Trager gave me several reasons, and all good, so here is my poem.

I apologize for those of you that appreciate poetry in Shakespeare language, but I felt more comfortable to do so in Rabelais language (but the comparison stop here).

Nylanderia cours dans la litière du bois

Frénétiquement, à la recherche d’une proie

Les poils hirsutes et la cuticule brillante,

Les mandibules légèrement ballantes.

Qu’un cadavre frais d’insecte se présente

Et c’est une brève inspection qui commence.

Pas de temps à perdre, les antennes dansent

Avant la venue des autres dominantes.

Recruter, récolter sont les impératifs

Pour nourrir la colonie et ses œufs natifs.

Soudain les longues antennes goûtent l’air

D’une odeur ni amicale, ni familière.

A retraite honorable, suis un repas

Pour celles qu’on appelait Paratrechina.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I find your poem much easier to understand than any of Rabelais’s!

Comment by James C. Trager

I find your poem much easier to understand than any of Rabelais’s!

And of course, “Bon voyage”.

Comment by James C. Trager

Hi Benoit:

I think your two months are over. Perhaps blog about your Costa Rican adventure?

Comment by James C. Trager




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

